HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Message
Author
User avatar
unixkd
Posts: 579
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:39 pm

HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#1 Post by unixkd »

Hi All,

HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ? I included it im my resource file which is compiled to a DLL (MyApp.Res to MyApp.DLL)

Thanks.

Joe

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#2 Post by rdonnay »

You put it in the same folder as your EXE and then recompile the EXE.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#3 Post by Tom »

Add a section like this to the .ARC-file of your app:

Code: Select all

#define MANIFEST_RESID 1
#define MANIFEST 24

USERDEF MANIFEST
  MANIFEST_RESID = FILE "c\myapp\manifest\myapp.exe.manifest"
Create the ressource file and recompile your app. You don't need to deliver a manifest file anymore.
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#4 Post by rdonnay »

You don't need to deliver a manifest file anymore.
Tom - Thanks for that. I will use it.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

skiman
Posts: 1199
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:22 am
Location: Sijsele, Belgium
Contact:

Re: HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#5 Post by skiman »

Hi,

I have a problem when using a manifest file. Colors in a browse aren't working anymore when I have a Manifest file in combination with Windows 7. I never noticed it with Windows XP.
With the manifest the column with the quantity remains black.
withmanifest.png
withmanifest.png (5.45 KiB) Viewed 11793 times
When I delete the manifest file, I have the following result, which I want.
withoutmanifest.png
withoutmanifest.png (4.28 KiB) Viewed 11793 times
When the manifest is part of the exe, you don't have the option to delete it. Or is there a possibility to enable/disable the manifest file?

Im' using ...COLOR {|o| ... } in my dcbrowsecol.
Best regards,

Chris.
www.aboservice.be

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#6 Post by rdonnay »

Chris -

Do you have a small sample program?
I will help you with this if you can save me some time creating the sample.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

skiman
Posts: 1199
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:22 am
Location: Sijsele, Belgium
Contact:

Re: HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#7 Post by skiman »

Hi Roger,

here it is.

I modified the sample browtip.prg.

If you compile it, you will see that column two isn't colored when you are using the browtip.exe.manifest file.

The browse.zip contains a browtip.prg and a browtip.exe.manifest.
Attachments
Browse.zip
(5.96 KiB) Downloaded 632 times
Best regards,

Chris.
www.aboservice.be

User avatar
Auge_Ohr
Posts: 1428
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#8 Post by Auge_Ohr »

skiman wrote:I have a problem when using a manifest file. Colors in a browse aren't working anymore when I have a Manifest file in combination with Windows 7. I never noticed it with Windows XP.
XP "visual Style" is not the same as Win7 which use DWM ... and not Win8/10 (checkit)

ColorBlock does NOT work while it is covered by "visual Style" so you have 2 Solution
a.) disable "visual Style" for Browse
b.) use Ownerdraw (without GraBackground )
greetings by OHR
Jimmy

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#9 Post by rdonnay »

This worked for me:

Code: Select all

DCBROWSECOL FIELD COLLECT->DESCRIP  PARENT oBrowse   WIDTH 10 HEADER "Description"
DCBROWSECOL FIELD COLLECT->TYPE     PARENT oBrowse   WIDTH 8  HEADER "Type" ;
   EVAL {|o|o:dataArea:useVisualStyle := .f.} ;
   COLOR {|o| if( .T. , { GRA_CLR_RED , GRA_CLR_WHITE },{GRA_CLR_GREEN ,GRA_CLR_WHITE } ) }
DCBROWSECOL FIELD COLLECT->LOCATION PARENT oBrowse   WIDTH 6  HEADER "Location"
DCBROWSECOL FIELD COLLECT->BITMAP1  PARENT oBrowse   WIDTH 6  HEADER "Bitmap 1"
DCBROWSECOL FIELD COLLECT->BITMAP2  PARENT oBrowse   WIDTH 6  HEADER "Bitmap 2"
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HOW can I Link Manifest file to my EXE ?

#10 Post by Tom »

This is fixed in Xbase++ 2.0 (although Xbase++ 2.0 comes with new errors).

Switching off the visual styles causes the browse to look ugly ("classic"). I added a subclass to all dcbrowses, retrieve the foreground color, if visual styles are enable for the dataarea, and paint the text by myself. Attached is a small sample (plain Xbase++, no eXpress++), which shows how to do this. This could be used in a DCBROWSE with some small changes.
Attachments
browseforeground.jpg
browseforeground.jpg (17.69 KiB) Viewed 11751 times
br_simple_owndrw.zip
(3.28 KiB) Downloaded 671 times
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

Post Reply