DCGET COMBO AND WINDOWS 11

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
slobodan1949
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 8:57 am
Location: SERBIA
Contact:

DCGET COMBO AND WINDOWS 11

#1 Post by slobodan1949 »

Dear Roger,
Problem:
after starting DCGET COMBO
the first left mouse click on the caption button
shows only the first item from the popup list (image1)
Repeated left mouse click on the caption button
shows all items from the popup list (image2)

This did not happen under windows 7 and 10
It is happening now under windows 11

Is there any solution for this?

Code: Select all

#include "Appevent.ch"
#include "Common.ch"
#include "Xbp.ch"
#include "Directry.ch"  // za funkciju directory()

#include "xbtsys.ch"
#include "dcdialog.ch"

#include "Appbrow.ch"
MEMVAR appObject

#PRAGMA LIBRARY( "ASCOM10.LIB" )

PROCEDURE APPSYS()
RETURN

PROCEDURE MAIN()
SET DATE GERMAN
SET CENTURY ON
SET CHARSET TO ANSI
***********
Data_Card()
***********
RETURN


*************************************************************************
FUNCTION Data_Card() // DEMO DCGET COMBO
*************************************************************************
LOCAL radno:=SELECT() //--> SELECT "TEST"
LOCAL GetList := {}, getoptions, oDlg, aCaption, nn:=46, aSORTS

  CREATE_TEST()
  USE TEST NEW EXCLUSIVE ALIAS "TEST"

   aCaption := DC_GetPopupCaption( { "10.Marlett", "u", 1 } )
   aSORTS   := aSORTS() // __PickList

   @ 1,1 DCSAY "SORT"  SAYSIZE 0 SAYFONT "11.Consolas Bold"
   @ 2,1 DCGET TEST->SORT_ GETSIZE nn GETFONT "11.Consolas Bold"; // mora TEST->
              TABSTOP                  ;
              COMBO                    ;
              HEIGHT 15                ;
              WIDTH nn+3               ;
              DATA aSORTS              ;
              ELEMENT 1                ;
              RETURN {|n|aSORTS[n]}    ; // array {a,b,c,...} // aSORTS[n]
              LISTFONT "11.Consolas"   ; // array {{a,b},{a,b},...} // aSORTS[n,1], aSORTS[n,2]
              HOTKEY xbeK_F1
           // CAPTION " + "; // or
           // CAPTION 123;   // --> 123 BMP resource from EXE // or
           // CAPTION "u" FONT "13.Marlett" // or
           // aCaption := DC_GetPopupCaption( { "10.Marlett", "u", 1 } )

DCHOTKEY xbeK_ESC ACTION {|| DC_ReadGuiEvent(DCGUI_EXIT_OK,GetList) } // PARENT oDlg
DCGETOPTIONS ;
NOMAXBUTTON NOMINBUTTON NORESIZE NOCONFIRM ENTEREXIT NOESCAPEKEY
DCREAD GUI OPTIONS GetOptions FIT TITLE "VINE GRAPE:" ;
PARENT @oDlg MODAL EVAL {|o|SetAppWindow(o)}
msgbox(TEST->SORT_)
SELECT "TEST";USE
SELECT(radno)
RETURN NIL

**********************************************
STATIC FUNCTION aSORTS()
**********************************************
 LOCAL aNiz := {;
 "WINE VARIETY",;
 "WINE VARIETY PAINTER",;
 "WINE VARIETY SEEDLESS",;
 "WINE VARIETY NEWLYCREATED",;
 "TABLE VARIETY",;
 "TABLE VARIETY PAINTER",;
 "TABLE VARIETY SEEDLESS",;
 "TABLE VARIETY NEWLYCREATED",;
 "TABLE VARIETY MATURING IS VERY EARLY",;
 "TABLE VARIETY MATURING IS EARLY",;
 "TABLE VARIETY MATURING IS MEDIUM",;
 "TABLE VARIETY MATURING IS LATE" }
RETURN aNiz

**********************************************
STATIC FUNCTION CREATE_TEST()
**********************************************
LOCAL aStructure, radno := SELECT()
  aStructure := { ;
   { "ID_       ", "C",    5 ,    0},;
   { "SORT_     ", "C",   40 ,    0},;
   { "LINK_     ", "C",   40 ,    0} }
   DbCreate( "TEST.DBF", aStructure, "DBFNTX" )
SELECT(radno)
RETURN(nil)

Attachments
IMAGE2.png
IMAGE2.png (58.5 KiB) Viewed 2142 times
IMAGE1.png
IMAGE1.png (17.75 KiB) Viewed 2142 times

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: DCGET COMBO AND WINDOWS 11

#2 Post by rdonnay »

I don't have Windows 11 so I'm not sure what is happening here.

Try removing the pushbutton from inside the GET object and see if it makes a difference.

Code: Select all

DC_GetPopupCaption( { "10.Marlett", "u", 0 } )
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: DCGET COMBO AND WINDOWS 11

#3 Post by Tom »

It doesn't happen on Windows 11 machines anyway:
test3.png
test3.png (104.38 KiB) Viewed 1913 times
The reason is not the OS.
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

User avatar
slobodan1949
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 8:57 am
Location: SERBIA
Contact:

Re: DCGET COMBO AND WINDOWS 11

#4 Post by slobodan1949 »

Removing the line:
aCaption := DC_GetPopupCaption( { "10.Marlett", "u", 1 } )
did not help. The program works the same as with it.

The same code processed through the compiler on Windows Server 2019 Standard - works the same
The same code processed through the compiler on Windows 11 - works the same
The correct conclusion is that the problem is not in the OS

It seems that the problem is in the rest of the environment:

Alaska Xbase++ version 2.0.1503
eXpress++ version 2.0.268
Advantage Database Server ADS version 10.10.0.49

I will have to test the entire system and experiment with the eXpress++ source code, which I do not like to do.

Roger and Tom, Thank you very much for your time.

skiman
Posts: 1199
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:22 am
Location: Sijsele, Belgium
Contact:

Re: DCGET COMBO AND WINDOWS 11

#5 Post by skiman »

Hi,

I never noticed this problem. A lot of our customers are working on Windows 11 and there are multiple comboboxes in our application. Without modifications in the eXpress source code.
Best regards,

Chris.
www.aboservice.be

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: DCGET COMBO AND WINDOWS 11

#6 Post by Tom »

Same here. All OS-versions, same code, same eXpress++, all Xbase++-versions since a lot of years.
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: DCGET COMBO AND WINDOWS 11

#7 Post by rdonnay »

The reason is not the OS.
Possibly, an update to the latest version of Xbase++ may be required.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Post Reply